About The British Virgin Islands

Print E-mail

General information on the British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands (BVI) comprises approximately 50 islands, cays and rocks, 15 of which are inhabited. The total land mass of 59.3 square miles is spread over 1,330 square miles. The 4 largest islands are - Tortola(21.5 square miles), Anegada (15.2 square miles), Virgin Gorda (8.5 square miles) and Jost Van Dyke (3.2 square miles).

The BVI is self-governed by a democratically elective Legislative Council. The government is comprised of an Executive Council consisting of a Chief Minister, the Attorney General. The Governor and Deputy Governor of the BVI are appointed by Her Majesty, the Queen, and hold office during Her Majesty's pleasure. There are no local government structures; however, there are 3 District Officers with administrative functions for Virgin Gorda; Anegada and Jost Van Dyke.



Last Updated on Thursday, 20 February 2014 15:58