Skip to content

The data and information of this report are updated daily and are available at:
Data can change as new notifications from countries are received.

The information is obtained from official websites of the Ministries of Health of the countries of the Americas and information submitted by the International Health Regulations (IHR) National Focal Points

Summary of the current situation

As of 17 June 2009, 35,399 confirmed cases of the new virus influenza A (H1N1) infection, including 180 deaths, have been notified in 27 countries of the Americas: Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela.

WHO is not recommending any travel restrictions related to the outbreak of the Influenza A (H1N1) virus.

In the Americas Region, there were 2,736 additional confirmed cases compared to previous day. Suriname notified it’s first’s cases caused by the new influenza A (H1N1) virus.

The following overseas territories have confirmed cases of influenza A (H1N1): Bermuda, UK Overseas Territory (1); Cayman Islands, UK Overseas Territory (4); British Virgin Islands, UK Overseas Territory (1); Martinique, French Overseas Community (1); Curaçao, Dutch Overseas Territory (3); and Saint Maarten, Dutch Overseas Territory (1).

Download the full Report
icon Update. Influenza A (H1N1) Regional Report (June 17 2009) 


Last Updated on Wednesday, 17 June 2009 16:37

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization
525 Twenty-third Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20037, United States of America
Tel.: +1 (202) 974-3000 Fax: +1 (202) 974-3663

© Pan American Health Organization. All rights reserved.