Skip to content

The data and information of this report are updated daily and are available at:
Data can change as new notifications from countries are received.

The information is obtained from official websites of the Ministries of Health of the countries of the Americas and information submitted by the International Health Regulations (IHR) National Focal Points

Summary of the current situation

As of 23 June 2009, 43, 874 confirmed cases of the new influenza A (H1N1) virus, including 238 deaths, have been notified in 28 countries of the Americas: Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela.

WHO is not recommending any travel restrictions related to the Pandemic H1N1 2009.

In the Americas Region, there were additional 461 confirmed cases compared to previous day.

Antigua & Barbuda reported its two first confirmed cases of new influenza A (H1N1) virus.

The following overseas territories have confirmed cases of new influenza A (H1N1): Bermuda, UK Overseas Territory (1); Cayman Islands, UK Overseas Territory (7); British Virgin Islands, UK Overseas Territory (1); Martinique, French Overseas Community (2); Netherlands Antilles, Curaçao: (3)*; and Netherlands Antilles, St. Maarten (1).

*The three confirmed cases were registered on a cruise ship.

Download the Full Report
icon Update. Influenza A (H1N1) Regional Report (June 23 2009)   
Last Updated on Tuesday, 23 June 2009 14:32

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization
525 Twenty-third Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20037, United States of America
Tel.: +1 (202) 974-3000 Fax: +1 (202) 974-3663

© Pan American Health Organization. All rights reserved.