Skip to content




Since 2006, 16 countries and one territory have introduced the rotavirus vaccine in their national vaccination schedule: in 2006, Brazil, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Nicaragua, the United States, and Venezuela; in 2007, Ecuador; in 2008, Bolivia; in 2009, Colombia, Honduras, Peru, and the British territory of Cayman Islands; and in 2010; Guatemala, Guyana and Paraguay. The countries of the Region of the Americas were the first to introduce this vaccine into their vaccination programs, and for the first time ever, a new vaccine is being introduced in developing and developed countries at the same time.

Last Updated on Monday, 21 July 2014 09:17

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization
525 Twenty-third Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20037, United States of America
Tel.: +1 (202) 974-3000 Fax: +1 (202) 974-3663

© Pan American Health Organization. All rights reserved.