Skip to content



Meeting the requirements in the IHR (2005) is a challenge that requires time, commitment and the willingness to change. This paper has been developed to guide WHO Member States and other countries that are parties to the Regulations in the implementation of the obligations contained in them. Section 4 sets out seven areas of work to assist countries with the challenges inherent in meeting the new obligations.


Each area of work has a specific goal that contributes to the over-arching goal of international public health security, and each area of work will be the subject of one or more detailed implementation plans.


The seven areas of work for IHR (2005) implementation: 



  • Foster global partnerships
  • Strengthen national disease prevention, surveillance, control and response systems
  • Strengthen public health security in travel and transport
  • Strengthen WHO global alert and response systems
  • Strengthen the management of specific risks
  • Sustain rights, obligations and procedures
  • Conduct studies and monitor progress 



Last Updated on Tuesday, 29 June 2010 04:09

National Focal Points in the Americas, 2010


 Active Image




List of all the National Focal Points in thirty-five countries


Last Updated on Thursday, 21 July 2011 12:41

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization
525 Twenty-third Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20037, United States of America
Tel.: +1 (202) 974-3000 Fax: +1 (202) 974-3663

© Pan American Health Organization. All rights reserved.