







"High-Level Meeting on the Use of Law to tackle Noncommunicable Diseases: A critical step to accelerate progress in the Caribbean"

Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago 10 March 2018

PARTICIPANTS LIST

Guyana

The Hon Minister Mrs. Volda Lawrence Minister of Public Health of Guyana, Ministry of Public Health of Guyana

Dr. Kavita Singh Director of NCD Division, Ministry of Public Health of Guyana drkav@live.com

Ms. Kesaundra Alves Attornev-at-law. Chairman of the Board, Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation kesaundra@gmail.com

Jamaica

Amb E. Courtenay Rattray

Ambassador/Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Jamaica to the United Nations jamaicaunpr@gmail.com

Dr. Tamu Davidson

Director, Non-communicable Diseases and Injuries Prevention Unit, Ministry of Health of Jamaica ncdunitjam@gmail.com

Suriname

The Hon Minister Ing. Patrick Pengel Minister of Health of Suriname, Ministry of Health of Suriname Chair of the Council for Human and Social Development (COHSOD) patrick.pengel@health.gov.sr

Trinidad and Tobago

The Hon. Minister Terrence Devalsingh Minister of Health of Trinidad and Tobago, Ministry of Health of Trinidad and Tobago

The Hon. Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon Minister of Trade and Industry of Trinidad and Tobago, Ministry of Trade and Industry of Trinidad and Tobago Chair of the Council of Trade and Economic

Development (COTED) conliffe-ryanj@gov.tt

Dr. Roshan Parasram

Chief Medical Officer, Ministry of Health Trinidad and Tobago roshan.parasram@health.gov.tt cmo@health.gov.tt

Dr. Rohit Doon

Advisor, Health Promotions and Communications Ministry of Health of Trinidad and Tobago Rohit.doon@health.gov.tt

Dr. Patrice Rabathaly

Research Epidemiologist, Office of the Chief Medical Officer, Ministry of Health of Trinidad and Tobago patrice.rabathaly@health.gov.tt

Mr Winston Ruder

Chairmain, Agricultural Development Bank, Trinidad and Tobaao winrud@yahoo.com

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Mrs. Deborah Daniel Williams

Agriculture Planning Officer Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Fisheries and Rural Transformation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines debbidaniel@gmail.com









Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat and Institutions

CARICOM Directorate for Human and Social Development

Dr. Douglas Slater
Assistant Secretary-General
douglas.slater@caricom.org

Dr. Rudolph Cummings

Programme Manager, Health Desk

Human and Social Development

rudolph.cummings@caricom.org

CARICOM Directorate for Trade and Economic Integration

Mr. Joseph Cox
Assistant Secretary-General
joseph.cox@caricom.org

Office of the General Counsel

Dr. Corlita Babb-Schaefer General Counsel corlita.babbschaefer@caricom.org

Office of Trade Negotiations

Mr. Vincent Atkins

LDC Trade Policy/Technical Advisor
vincent.atkins@caricom.org

Dr. Chantal Ononaiwi

Trade Policy and Legal Specialist
chantal.ononaiwu@caricom.org

CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) Unit

Ms. Gladys Young
Officer-in-Charge
gladys.young@caricom.org

Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ)

The Rt. Hon. Sir Dennis Bryon President, Caribbean Court of Justice The Hon. Mr. Justice Anderson

Judge, Caribbean Court of Justice

Chair of the Caribbean Court of Justice Academy of

Law and Administration (CALCA)

wanderson@ccj.org

The Hon. Mr. Justice Jacob Wit Judge, Caribbean Court of Justice

Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA)

Dr. C. James Hospedales Executive Director hospedja@carpha.org

Caribbean Agricultural Research and Development Institute (CARDI)

Mr. Barton Clarke Executive Director bclarke@cardi.org

Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC)

Mr. Kemaul Persaud

Director of Corporate Services

kpersaud@cxc.org

CARICOM Regional Organization for Standards and Quality (CROSQ)

Mr. Deryck Omar Chief Executive Officer deryck.omar@crosq.org

Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)

Dr. Carlene Radix
Head, Health Unit
Social and Sustainable Development Division
carlene.radix@oecs.int

Mrs. Turkessa Benjamin Antoine Senior Legal Officer turkessa.bantoine@oecs.int









Academia

Dr. David Berry

Dean, Faculty of Law, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados david.berry@cavehill.uwi.edu

Mrs. Nicole Foster

Law Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados fosternicole2@gmail.com

Dr. Leighton Jackson

Dean, Faculty of Law, University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, Jamaica leighton.jackson@uwimona.edu.jm

Mrs. Miriam Samaru

Principal, Hugh Wooding Law School, Trinidad and Tobago

miriam.samaru@hwlsedu.com

Prof. Alafia Samuels

Director, Chronic Disease Research Center University of West Indies alafia.samuels@cavehill.uwi.edu alafiasam@gmail.com

Prof. Emeritus Karl Theodore

Director, Health Economics Unit, University of the West Indies, St Augustine Campus, Trinidad and Tohago

karl.theodore@sta.uwi.edu

Bar Associations

Mr. Ruggles Ferguson Immediate Past President OECS Bar Association president@oecsbar.org

Civil society

Healthy Caribbean Coalition (HCC)

Sir Trevor Hassel President

 $\underline{trevor.hassell@healthycaribbean.org}$

Mrs. Maisha Hutton

Executive Director

maisha.hutton@healthycaribbean.org

The Heart Foundation of Jamaica/Jamaica Coalition for Tobacco Control

Mrs. Deborah Chen

Executive Director

execdir@heartfoundationja.org

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

Dr. Terri Raney

Senior Policy Officer for the Caribbean, Country Representative a.i. for Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname

Terri.Raney@fao.org

Mr. Devern Calvin Smith

Trinidad and Tobago FAO Country Office Programme Assistant

Devern.CalvinSmith@fao.org

Ms. Marissa Sheppard

Trinidad and Tobago FAO Country Office Programme Support

Marissa.Sheppard@fao.org

Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO)

Sir George Alleyne (WDC)

PAHO Director Emeritus, Washington D.C.

alleyned@paho.org

Dr. Anselm Hennis

Director, Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health. Washinaton D.C.

hennisa@paho.org

Mrs. Jessie Schutt-Aine

Subregional Program Coordinator, Caribbean, Barbados

schuttjes@paho.org

Dr. Heidi Jimenez

Legal Counsel, Office of the Legal Counsel,

Washington D.C.

jimenezh@paho.org









Dr. Yitades Gebres
PAHO/WHO Representative, Suriname
gebrey@paho.org

Dr. William Adu-Krow
PAHO/WHO Representative, Guyana
adukroww@paho.org

Dr. Adriana Blanco Unit Chief, Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health, Washington D.C

blancoad@paho.org

ibarrai@paho.org

Dr. Ignacio Ibarra Regional Advisor Health-Related Law, Office of the Legal Counsel, Washington D.C.

Dr. Taraleen Malcolm

Advisor, Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health, Trinidad and Tobago malcolmt@paho.org

Mrs. Karen Roberts

Advisor, Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health, Guyana robertsk@paho.org

Dr. Elisa Prieto

Advisor, Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health, Caribbean Subregional Program Coordination, Barbados prietoel@paho.org

Ms. Semolia King
Administrative Assistant
ECC PAHO Representation
kingsem@paho.org