Skip to content

Millennium Development Goals

Print E-mail

Article Index

About the Millennium Development Goals

In 2000, during the United Nations Millennium Summit, heads of state and government, ministers and heads of delegations from 189 countries committed themselves to the goal of liberating hundreds of millions of men, women and children from conditions of dehumanizing poverty.  These commitments inspired the United Nations Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) of 2000.   The MDGs are eight goals that all 191 UN member states have agreed to try to achieve by the year 2015. The United Nations Millennium Declaration, signed in September 2000 commits world leaders to combat poverty, hunger, disease, illiteracy, environmental degradation, and discrimination against women. The MDGs are derived from this Declaration and all have specific targets and indicators. 

The MDGs are a special challenge for the Americas a region that while not the poorest, is the most unequal. The MDGs emphasis on addressing all forms of inequality is a historic opportunity, a chance to capitalize on the highest and most unambiguous level of political will, a chance to mobilize the efforts of developing and developed countries towards achieving measurable and tangible goals, and as a result significant improvements on the lives of those most in need. The core values of the MDGs are closely linked to PAHO's values, vision, and mission and therefore are a critical element of the organization's technical cooperation.

Last Updated on Friday, 14 December 2012 16:00

Regional Office of the World Health Organization
525 Twenty-third Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20037, United States of America
Tel.: (202) 974-3000 Fax: (202) 974-3663