Print E-mail

For a better view click here



The State of Grenada consists of three islands- Grenada, Carriacou and Petite Martinique which form the southern end of the Windward Islands.   Formerly colonized for many years, first by the French and then by the British, the islands of Grenada still retain traces of these European influences in their culture, architecture and place names. The Capital, St. George’s, is located on the south west coast of Grenada.  It is the seat of government and the main commercial center.  The country has a population of 104,487.  Its Human Development Index (HDI) is ranked number 67. Tourism is Grenada’s main economic force, though it is also a main producer of certain spices including cinnamon, cloves, ginger and nutmeg.

Faces Voices and Places Grenada


Last Updated on Tuesday, 10 April 2012 16:58