General Information

WHO Collaborating Centres are institutions such as universities, hospitals, research institutes, academies or ministries which have been designated by the WHO Director-General to carry out activities in support of the Organization’s programs. Currently, there are over 800 Collaborating Centres in over 80 Member States working with WHO on areas such as nursing, occupational health, communicable diseases, nutrition, mental health, chronic diseases, and health technologies, among others.

All WHO Collaborating Centres located in the Region of the Americas are known as Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) Collaborating Centres (PAHO/WHO CCs) since PAHO serves as a WHO Regional Office and because of its constitutional structure. Today there are nearly 200 active Centres in 16 countries in the Americas (not including new proposals in the pipeline).

Each PAHO/WHO CC cooperates with a specified technical division, according to mutually agreed upon terms of reference. This agreement is initially for a period of four years and in some cases may be renewed for an additional period of up to four years. PAHO/WHO technical officers identify eligible Centres that are capable and willing to be designated as such. Then, after at least two years of successful collaboration, these officers initiate a proposal for designation from either the regional or global WHO program. Spontaneous applications or self-nominations by institutions are not accepted.

Complete details about WHO policies, procedures, and responsibilities are available in the Guide for WHO Collaborating Centres.