The 47th Ordinary Meeting of the South American Commission for the Fight Against Foot-and-Mouth Disease (COSALFA), to be held on 23-24 April 2020, at Hotel Intercontinental Mendoza, in Mendoza, Argentina.

In 2020, culminates the Hemispheric Program for the Eradication of Foot-and-Mouth Disease (PHEFA) Action Plan 2011-2020 and, in spite of the outstanding and solid progress observed in the course of the current action plan, where the entire territory of the Americas, with the exception of one country, has reached the official status granted by the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) as free of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD-free) with or without vaccination, an area of the South American region has lagged behind without achieving recognition of its epidemiological condition regarding FMD. Consequently, the region must, on the one hand, prioritize its efforts towards the elimination of FMD in those areas with a remaining infection and, on the other, complete the eradication process, making the transition to the status of free without vaccination in those FMD-free zones and countries that still maintain systematic vaccination cycles in their bovine populations.

In this context, COSALFA 47, as per its mandate, will analyze the current situation in accordance with the PHEFA Action Plan 2011-2020. Resolutions should be adopted to enhance the efficiency of regional technical cooperation in advancing those territories, which are not FMD-free, to mitigate the remaining risks of FMD virus infection, thus ensuring significant progress towards the eradication achieved in the present decade.

Furthermore, prior to COSALFA 47, will be held on April 20 and 21, in the same venue, the International Seminar “PHEFA 2020: Time for decisions - Res non verba tempus fugit”. During this Seminar, we will offer the opportunity to present a technical work related to the subject, in poster display, according to the rules specified on the Criteria for entering papers.

COSALFA is formed by 26 representatives of 13 countries of the American Continent, namely, one representative of the public sector, the Official Veterinary Service Director, and one of the private sector, representing the highest national association of livestock producers. The 13 countries of the American Continent are Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam, Venezuela, and Uruguay.

COSALFA is promoted by the Pan-American Foot-and-Mouth Disease Center (PANAFTOSA) of the Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) and for this edition will receive support from the Government of Argentina, represented by the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries (MAGyP), through its National Agri-food Health and Quality Service (SENASA).