The Bahamas


The Bahamas is a country formed by an archipelago of 700 islands and 2,400 keys in the Caribbean Sea, facing the coast of Florida. It has a total area of 13,900 km2.

Approximately 30 islands are inhabited, with a population of 369,670 in 2015; 90% of the population lives on New Providence (especially in the capital, Nassau), where the seat of government is located, as well as on Grand Bahama and Abaco islands.

Between 1990 and 2015, the population grew by 44.2%. In 1990, its structure had a stationary trend in the under-40 age groups. The population pyramid has since become regressive as a result of aging; 9% of the population is over 65.

In 2013, life expectancy at birth was 74.7 years.

The per capita annual income is also relatively high (US$ 21,570), as is the per capita gross domestic product (US$ 25,100), generated mainly by tourism (60%) and, to a lesser degree, financial services (15%).

(Source: Health in the Americas+, 2017 Edition)