Bermuda is a self-governing British Overseas Territory in the Region of the Americas. It consists of seven main islands connected by bridges and more than 100 smaller islands. The territory is divided into nine parishes and has an estimated population of 63,000 people. The capital, Hamilton, is located in the parish of Pembroke.

The strategic health priorities for Bermuda are included in PAHO’s Country Cooperation Strategy (2017-2022) with the United Kingdom Overseas Territories in the Caribbean. They include:

  • Promoting health and well-being throughout the life-course
  • Strengthening health systems governance, organization and management to achieve Universal Health
  • Building safe, healthy and resilient environments that respond to threats and emergencies that have public health consequences